//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

“You’re going to have to go threw me…”

I work in the athletics department at my school. My bosses office is between the athletic stats guy (aka, most opinionated man in the world…) and one of the soccer coaches offices. Coaches from other sports are constantly in and out of my bosses office, and I have getten to know many of them pretty well. One of the coaches also works in the accademic support services department, AKA, the people I’m going to have to deal with the leave SU. Well, being the big stupid girl that I am, I let slip to this guy that I’m leaving…send in the LECTURE. I get where he was going with the whole thing, but, I think people aren’t getting the fact that I just don’t want to be in college.

I get it. I know. College good, underpaid non-degree required jobs bad. And maybe, college isn’t for me. And this blog that I’m about to link to says that childcare is a growth industry! SO HA!!! Mind you, I have yet to be able to find any empirical data to back up that claim, but STILL! HA!!

http://politics.usnews.com/opinion/blogs/scott-galupo/2010/6/15/The-Changing-Economy-Means-College-Isnt-for-Everyone.html

So, now, here I am, second or third or forth guessing myself. Maybe I just need to do it. Just break the chains and go. No looking back, no questioning. Just do it.

I just want to run away. Go some where that people aren’t going to judge me for not having a college degree. Some place where you can still be considered smart if you don’t have a diploma. I’m just sick of this East Coast mentality of  “go go go! Achieve success in easily recordable increments, and GOD FORBID you find your success in way that can’t be measured in dollars or degrees…if that’s the case, it might as well not have happened.”

In fact, I just finished writitng a 7 page essay about my expirience when I can back from Florida. And looking at that, I’m damn lucky to be as successful as I am.

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

