//
you're reading...
love

“…a gold star in the end.”

“You have to do what’s right because it’s right, not because someone’s going to give you a gold star in the end.” ~Zen and the Art of Faking It Jordan Sonnenblick

First and foremost, Jordan Sonnenblick has to be the BEST young adult fiction writer out there. He’s just awesome. Check him out.

However, that was totally NOT my point with this post. An interesting point was raised in the young adult bible study/faith sharing/whatever it is group I found myself in. We were talking about looking for your life to bear fruit. The idea is that a life lived in the will of the Lord will bear fruit.  Mind you, this was an hour longer conversation, and I’m missing a GREAT deal of detail in a HIGHLY nuanced conversation. However, the idea that seemed to be the going theme was “look for fruit”. However, it more came off as “do good things so that good things will happen to you”.  WOWSERS, did that ever put my back up!

I very truly and DEEPLY believe that we in NO way should look for our ‘reward’ for loving the Lord while on Earth. Sure, if there is some kick back of heavenly awesomeness while on Earth, that’s a plus. But we don’t follow Jesus and serve his people to get ‘gold stars’. We do it because He is the Way, the Truth and the Life.

Do good deeds. Serve the poor, the lowly. Take care of the widows and the orphans. But don’t look for rewards. You want to see fruits of following Jesus?? Looks for these:

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”

That is the fruit I want my life to bare.

I want to serve my Master’s people because itis the right and good thing to do. Not because it will get me a reward.

And please, DO NOT think I’m saying that I am AT ALL good at this. In fact, I stink at this! I am a really first class screw up. Just recently was profoundly stupid and selfish. Above is the ideal I am just starting to aim for.

Also, it’s entirely possible that I missed my friend’s point and am looking at the whole point cockeyed. If that is the case, sorry Dave!!

This article seems to sum it up pretty well. Note that I don’t agree on ALL the points the author makes, but, the basic gist is there.

http://www.spirithome.com/fruitssp.html#bearfruit

 

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

