//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Yeah, I’ve walked through the Valley of the Shadow.

An image of Psalm 23 (King James' Version), fr...

Image via Wikipedia

The LORD, the Psalmist’s Shepherd.

A Psalm of David.

1The LORD is my shepherd,
I shall not want.

2He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside quiet waters.

3He restores my soul;
He guides me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

4Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil, for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

5You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You have anointed my head with oil;
My cup overflows.

6Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Yes, it’s one of those days. A day when you really can get your mind around the concept that there is a valley of the shadow of death. That imagery has always been very vivid tome. Having spent my reading years with my nose in sci-fi books, the valley of the shadow of death always resembled something out of a Star Wars movie, or a Wheel of Time book.

It’s shadowy, and things lurk behind rocks as I clutch my sad dagger, eyes darting wildly to take in all my surroundings at once. A feeble stream flows down the floor on the valley-more a canyon-and my boots makes splashes that echo ominously as I journey onwards. My heart beats and my pulse races. Some on is following…maybe…they stick to the shadows…I think? I have yet to lay eyes on my pursuer. I run faster, tripping over rocks and splashing wildly.

However, that’s not exactly what it looks like to me now. I think that now, the valley is more…life. I guess being in a place in life where not only the Valley is real, but the rest of the verse- the lying in green pastures, and the restoration of my soul- helps me to understand that every step I’ve ever taken without God is in the Valley.

So yeah, I’ve walked it.

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Lord is my shepherd « Old Brush Arbors Weblog - April 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

