//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Oh hi. Yeah, I’m still alive.

Route 66 through Downtown Albuquerque, New Mexico

Image via Wikipedia

Do not put statements in the negative form.
And don’t start sentences with a conjunction.
If you reread your work, you will find on rereading that a
great deal of repetition can be avoided by rereading and editing.
Never use a long word when a diminutive one will do.
Unqualified superlatives are the worst of all.
De-accession euphemisms.
If any word is improper at the end of a sentence, a linking verb is.
Avoid trendy locutions that sound flaky.
Last, but not least, avoid cliches like the plague.
~William Safire, “Great Rules of Writing”

So, today marks three weeks in New Mexico. Not too bad. Am slightly homesick, but I find that having no social life outside of the family I live with has really given me insane amounts of time to write, and as I sit down to write this little blog I’m more inclined to write about the writing that I’ve been…um…writing. (Maybe I should edit that sentence…nah…)

Well, I’ll write about that later, as I have a few ruminations to spin before hand. First, the family is great. Little boy is a pleasure, but I must say, the lasty 2 hours of my day do tend to drag a bit. Oh well.

I think I’ve found a church that I like. The priests Homilies are a bit…abrasive and yet drag on at the same time, but, I’m still pretty happy with the community over all. There is something very distinctively home about the Mass to me. I feel surrounded by my closest friends and family as I receive communion. Walking into a Catholic Church is like walking home to me. It’s quite nice.

I’ve been missing my friends from home quite a bit lately. Even leaked a few tears today. but they were small, and didn’t really last all that long. I’m better now. Although, I do hate facebook for making it so easy for me to see what EXACTLY I’m missing. Stupid, stupid Facebook.

So, about writing. Man, it’s hard. I want to desperately to go into great an annoying detail of my story, but read a quote that said not to…oh hell, forget that quote…well, mostly. I will, however say that it’s based off of a dream I had a few nights ago. It was epic. A period piece. Been doing a lot of research. Even emailed the Maryland Historical Society. REALLY hope they get back to me. Main reason for emailing them is that their online database is so vast that I have NO idea where to start, and communicating with a real live person just seems easier.

I remember when I was younger, thinking that people who thought writing was sooooo hard were silly. It came so easily to me as a younger person. I just sat there and stories happened. That’s not the case so much anymore. It’s more of a struggle to pull something out of my hands and onto the keyboard than any type of any flow. Oh well. Here comes the discipline.

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Oh hi. Yeah, I’m still alive.

  1. You’re braver than I am, girlfriend! Good for you for writing. I’ve had two novels in my head for years, but haven’t had the courage to attempt to write!

    Posted by Kristina Hooper | May 2, 2011, 1:16 am
  2. Clare, Yeah, writing is harder than it used to be. I’m working on two projects: research for a biography ( that may involve a trip) and a memoir- type piece, something adapted from a series I wrote long ago. Good luck to you. You are a great writer, and I’m not saying that because we are related. Cathy

    Posted by Cathy | May 5, 2011, 4:07 pm

Leave a Reply

