//
you're reading...
love

Five Good Reasons/ I’m not in love, so just forget it…

New Mexico

Image by Piratepenpen via Flickr

A good friend of mine once told me that I should have 5 good reasons to really like a guy. Well, I didn’t have 5 good reasons then, but I’m working on them! So, I wrote a poem about my -possible- feelings for a mystery man out there. I was supposed to be working on wither my screen play of my novel. Oh well. I wrote poem instead. Her it is.

All I’ve got / Are the memories/ Of long conversations/ And possibly lingering glances./ Did your hand brush mine that day?/ That day under the dome./ And all I’ve got/ Is a burning desire/ To hear about your day./ And this chord progression/ Makes my heart bleed a little./ And suddenly,/ I want your love,/ Or maybe just your attention./ I can’t think/ Of five good reasons/ To love you/ Or to care as much as I do./ And maybe tomorrow,/ -Let’s be honest here-/ Will see me/ Over this ache in my chest./ But for now,/ All I’ve got/ Is the sound of/ Plucked guitar strings/ Echoing in my empty heart/ And reminding me/ That I don’t have/ Five good reasons/ To feel this way.

So, there’s that.

I will have been in New Mexico for 2 months on Friday. I go from feeling like I’ve just gotten here to feeling like I’ve been here my whole life…and most of the time that’s in a good way. Not always, mind you, but most of the time. Missing the people from home terribly, but, having Facebook to keep me ‘in’ the loop is great. Doesn’t even come CLOSE to actually interacting with people, but still, it’s not bad.

Plan on getting a REAL cell phone soon. Damn roaming charges….

I’m hoping the poem makes up for not having a great finish to this blog….oh wait…there’s this…song mentioned in the poem, in case you were wondering….

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

One thought on “Five Good Reasons/ I’m not in love, so just forget it…

  1. i did not know you were a poetess…love the poem…’plucked guitar strings echoing in my empty heart’…fabulous line! you know you are deeply loved!

    Posted by Kristina Hooper | June 9, 2011, 1:31 am

Leave a Reply

