//
you're reading...
love

The Stars in My Eyes

Stars

Image by Jordan Hackworth via Flickr

Did you know
That the stars in my eyes
Shine brighter
Away from the city lights?
Did you know
That the wonderfulness of me
Sings a little louder
In the thin mountain air?
Did you know
That I walk these hills
With you
Nearly every night?
Did you know
I’m confused
But so alive.
Did you know
I write you poems
As the cold mountain night air
Blows some sweet smell
Into my room.
Did you know
That here,
In this High Desert land,
I’m finding myself
To be
Enough,
For once.
My stars shine brighter
And my songs sing clearer.
All I want now
Is for you to sing it with me.
Did you know that??

 

Latest offering to a secret love. I had a rather extreme feeling the other day that I really wanted to write things that were relevant. I sat and thought of things I could write. Honestly, nothing came. So, I put in my newest Dave Mathews Band album, and wrote poetry. And then, aha!, I realized something. I don’t have to be relevant to anyone but myself.

Maybe someday, if I get published, I will have to worry about writing for an audience, but, right now, I’m writing for me, and darn it, that’s enough.

Also, my current muses -Mystery Man and the New Mexico sky- are proving rather prolific. Good on ya, Muses!

 

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Stars in My Eyes

  1. My advice – not that you’re asking…always write for yourself. You will always have some who don’t like your poetry, some that will…you can’t please everyone, so be true to who YOU are! Trust me, poetry, anything, written from the heart, will move people. Keep on writing! Hey…I’m gonna send you a link to my poetry site – check it out and see what you think!

    Posted by Kristina Hooper | June 10, 2011, 2:06 am
  2. A woman after my own heart! I always write what is in my heart , never for anyone else. if someone is touched by what i have written -great, but it is all for me. Poetry is an excellent way to get your feelings out.
    Love you my dear girlI l

    Posted by Anne Horman | June 10, 2011, 2:22 am

Leave a Reply

