//
you're reading...
Feelings, love

Good Morning, Baltimore…I miss ya.

Washington Monument, in the Mt. Vernon neighbo...

Image via Wikipedia

So, I’ve never actually seen Hairspray. But, living in Baltimore when this movie came out pretty much guaranteed that you had at least heard this song. So, I have a pretty good familiarity with this particular ditty.

And I’ll tell you what, today, this song is strummin’ my pain with it’s fingers, because, you see, I miss home profoundly today. I don’t know if it’s because it’s Father’s Day. My family has never been big about Father’s Day or Mother’s Day. I just miss home. I miss my friends, and my parents. I even really miss my stupid, crazy, lovable dog.

If you know me, or have just happen to read my blogs, you know that I’m a pretty social person. Well, lets up it this way, I’m a social person who really needs her alone times to recharge. But, take away the social interaction, and I’m just recharging all the time. And that’s just pointless. I’m lonely here. Spending all my time with 3 people that I happen to live with and work for it just taking it’s toll. Thanks GOD that I get along well with the family, but it’s just not the same.

I feel inspired to write a poem or two….we shall see.

________________

Every song on this radio

Turns my head back East,

To home and hearth

And to the far off beating of my heart.

These mountains outside my window

May inspire adventure in my soul,

But the quiet calling of the Bay

And the pulsing hum of the Harbor

Hold my mind in their grasps.

Yet here I am,

Amongst the mountains and the clouds,

Doing what I set out to do.

But…

Who knew that City would call me so?

Who knew?

Faces of friends and enemies,

Old lovers and old drinking buddies

Chase the sound of Route 40

Through my mind.

Who knew I’d need you so, Baltimore?

 

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 3: Robservations « MTR The Network - June 23, 2011

Leave a Reply

