//
you're reading...
Faith, love

Warning: Jesus Content

fresco at the Karlskirche in vienna (by Johann...

Image via Wikipedia

Let’s see, let’s see. What to say?

The 3 month mark has come and past. I’m still here, and things are…ok. Well, my job is great. Sebastian and I get on like a house on fire. Family is great. Scenery is great. I just don’t really have any friends.

I can say that I’ve felt like I didn’t have any friends in the past, but this time in my life really, really outlines that fact that, yes, all my friends are very, very far away.

But there is hope, and it has come in the strangest form.

So, as you may or may not know, I’ve been picking up a few hours here and there at the gym that the family I work for owns. Well, I was there this Sunday, and it was about an hour before closing when a young man walks in. He was about 20-22 and was a vacationer who only had a weekly pass. We started talking a bit, since he had just BIKED the 11 miles from Red River just to work out. I don’t know about you, but an 11 mile bike ride is QUITE enough of a work out for me, thank you very much! Anyway, some how, we went from the USA woman’s soccer game, to the fact that he had plans to pack up and move to Africa to be a missionary.

Well, he went about his workout, and, to be honest, was REALLY starting to push the time limits when he finally finished and approached the desk I sit at. He asked casually where I went to church around here. I responded that I went to Our Lady of Guadalupe, then he smiled and said “So you love Jesus, right?” I smiled back and replied “I do indeed.” He asked me how I liked living here, and instead of my patent line I use at the gym, I opted for honesty and said “It’s hard. Really, really hard. I’m lonely.” Well, he looked at my with bright brown eyes and asked if he could pray for me.

Well, I’ll tell you, I haven’t a clue when the last time a stranger asked if they could pray for me, so, I assumed he meant ‘in general’ or ‘at some point’. Let’s be honest, we live in a world where praying for someone is often a rushed “god bless mom and dad and my puppy and help Uncle Bill quit smoking…” uttered before bedtime, so, when he closed his eyes and bowed his head, I was floored. And the wonders continued. It was like God had put a tape recorder to my prayers and this kid was praying them back for me. I sincerely wish I could remember all he said, but I can tell you, it was pretty amazing.

We paused during the prayer and the guy looked at my and started to try yo explain how he wasgifted with the ability to hace fellowship and the gifts of the Spirit. I stopped him, smiling and said “Yes, I know about the gifts of the Spirit, and I’d say you have word of knowledge, brother.” Yes, i called him brother. It was hokey, but it worked at the time.

We continued praying, and he told me a few other things, the one the stuck with me the most was that God hears my prayers the i whisper under my breath.

I don’t know why, but, of all the things that he said, that was one of the most important. I suppose that I had been getting to the point these last 3 months where I felt that God had just closed his ears to me.

Another thing he said was that I was ‘waiting on the blessing of God’. He said as he walked up to me, that was the word he got, and how at first, he thought it was a financial thing (he said he usually thought of that being financial) but no, this meant something else, and what he felt like that blessing was going to be was God sending me people of value. He then told me that I often see value in people the other miss entirely, and that I had a heart for the poor. Again, this floored me.

I don’t really remember what was said after that, other than me saying “Thank you sooooooo much!” about 50 times. But, that’s when he left. It felt like my soul had been lifted and life had been breathed into my dry bones.

Needless to say, I feel as though hope has been planted anew.

And, yes, this is weird. And no, this sort of thing does NOT normally happen to me. And NO, I DIDN’T make it up. Not even I am that good.

I’m not sure what to make of all of this. I’m still kind of jangled and happy. I guess I just feel blessed and very, very loved.

And before complaints and/or negative comments start, I’m not trying to convert or preach. I’m just being honest. This happened. I blog about things that happen. So, there.

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Warning: Jesus Content

  1. Oh Claire, that is so good. I am so glad that you were blessed with such an incredible experience of God’s grace and were open to letting him use this young man to be a conduit of His love for you. It must fill you with so much hope. What a confirmation of the gift of persisting in the belief that God wants good for us and that WE NEED TO CLING TO HOPE AND A DEEP ABIDING FAITH IN HIS MERCY AND LOVE. Yay God!!!! love you tons

    Posted by Anne Horman | July 20, 2011, 2:43 pm
  2. Hmmm…this is YOUR blog, right? You can write whatever you want to write, and no one should say anything; if someone doesn’t like what you write, they don’t have to read your blog. Sounds to me like you were given a most wonderful gift, from a God who loves you. What a blessing for you, Claire…He is faithful. Love to you!

    Posted by Kristina Hooper | July 22, 2011, 2:22 am

Leave a Reply

