//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Bit of Poetry

As follows are some of the poems I’ve written recently. Keep in mind, dear readers, that someone once called poems a “moment’s monument”. These poems are but a monument to a moment, not the whole of my life right now. 

 

“Flinging Rocks”

The trees,            

Who once sang to me,            

Are all now dead,            

Reduced to kindling.            

The stones,            

That once lent me strength,            

Have all been crushed,            

And all that remains            

Are many piles of dust.            

I can’t see,            

And I can’t hear,            

And all the places            

I used to find light            

Are smog covered.            

I need            

A break through.            

I need a ray of light,            

A burst of truth,            

A moment of Clarity            

To open my eyes            

And unplug my ears.            

Because I’m calling into darkness,            

Flinging rocks and rhetoric            

Into the abyss            

And hoping that it really            

Is empty            

And that the darkness            

Isn’t going            

To Fling the rocks            

Back at me.

 

“Spirals”

 

I remember the days
When a spiral
Was a doodle 
On my notebook
And not a feeling
Of loosing controll
and plunging head first
Into the dark waters. 
I remember the days
When all I wanted
Was to leave this town
And not stay forever, 
Wrapped in a caccoon
Of small town wonder. 
I remember when
Things like last night’s 
Show of 
Darkness
Would have set me running.
But here I am,
Clinging to the 
Heart pounding, 
Pulse racing, 
Speeding in the dark, 
Laughter chasing us down the highway
Rush of your madness. 
You’ve become
Everthing that is wrong
And right in 
This moment. 
And I know, 
Deep down in that 
Knowingest part of myself
That I need to let you go. 
But your eyes, 
So dark and sad
Call to me. 
And I find myself
Forgiving things
That blow my mind. 
Your darkness
Calls me out into the wild
Of the night. 
And I find myself 
Trying to balance sanity
With the dark longings of your smile.

Copyright © nannymcawesome, 11/09/201

“into the Sunset”

We furrow brows
And squint into the setting sun. 
A vague outline of what lays before us
Can be perceived. 
But ultimately
It’s a guessing game
And somewhat painful. 
It’s like that,
This unknown future, 
Not in my hands.
A future that leaves you hoping
That all the other people squinting 
Into the sunset
See something 
That you can’t.  

Copyright © nannymcawesome, 11/09/2011

 

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A Bit of Poetry

  1. I like the first one the best!

    Posted by Lisa Marie Meola | November 23, 2011, 10:49 am
  2. I really enjoyed these, Claire. They make pictures come into my head & feelings rise inside of me.

    Remember that poem you wrote about the man who took the babies out of the killing place in boxes? It was so good.

    Posted by Lifesong | November 23, 2011, 3:04 pm
    • I do indeed remember that. It didn’t really start out as a poem, but more of a spoken word piece. But yes, that was very emotionally charged. Glad you remember it.
      Also glad you enjoyed these pieces as well. They were some very hard pieces to write, but each of them served as a release of some internal stress. It’s nice to know that something that was so good for me to write has an effect on others. 🙂

      Posted by Beating Heart, Spinning Mind | November 23, 2011, 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

