//
you're reading...
Feelings, love, poetry

A Girl Who Wants More/Torbellino

The following link is to the youtube video for “Love the Way You Lie” by Eminem. Please take this as my disclaimer that A) this song is gritty, and the video a bit violent and B ) despite the fact that this song loosely inspired the poem that follows, I am in NO WAY in an abusive relationship. There is just one line that I liked and it stuck in my head.

Also, this poem was selected for Poem of the Day on the website I belong to, Poets for Integrity. 🙂

“A Girl Who Wants More/Torbellino”

-Torbellino is Spanish for whirlwind, or so says Google Translator.
-This poem in semi-inspired by the Eminem song, Love the Way You Lie. There is a line in the song  that says “Guess that’s what happens when a tornado meets a volcano.” I’ve defined this relationship by these terms in my own head from the very beginning. He’s the tornado, I’m the volcano. Or, sometime’s it’s the other way around. One never can tell.

Fire Tornado

Image by edrabbit via Flickr

 

My beautiful Torbellino:
You blew through my life
In a flurry of pool cues,
Laughter
And significant glances.
I stumbled about,
Heart on my sleeve
Imagining that I was something
Special.
Swirled up in you
And all your
Glorious chaos.

But a stranger
Saw to the heart of things
That Thanksgiving night.
He looked at me,
As I looked at you,
My Torbellino,
And said
With an honesty and eloquence
Only strangers can achieve,
“You look like a girl who wants more…”
And I knew in that moment
That the winds had died.
Because,
While you have more to give,
My wild Whirlwind,
You won’t give it to me.

So goodbye,
My dearest Torbellino,
Goodbye.

 

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “A Girl Who Wants More/Torbellino

  1. Very nice Claire…keep up the good writing!

    Posted by Missy Craig | November 29, 2011, 5:04 am

Leave a Reply

