//
you're reading...
Faith, Feelings, love

Choosing Joy

You pray in your distress and in your need; would that you might also pray in the fullness of your joy and in your days of abundance.
Khalil Gibran

We could never learn to be brave and patient, if there were only joy in the world.
Helen Keller

Participate joyfully in the sorrows of the world. We cannot cure the world of sorrows, but we can choose to live in joy.
Joseph Campbel
Things have been…odd, lately. I’ve been off my game. There are various possible reasons for this. And all of them are possible, not definite. Honestly, i think it’s a “some of column A and some B” situation. There are a bunch of wishy-washy areas in my life right now that I’m not wild about. Between numerous false start- and restart- relationships, trying to figure out what exactly I’m going to do with the next stage of my life and some strangely timed financial woes, I’m not exactly on solid ground. And not only is the ground on which I stand not solid, but I have no clue which direction to jump in order to avoid the crumbling pavement. These things do add up.

So, here I sit. Looking for something I have at least a little control over. And really, ultimately, what is the only thing that we have control over, but ourselves? I have to choose something. And I choose Joy. What does that mean? For me, it means that I choose to not let these predicaments that I find myself facing kill my peace. Not let the darkness that I’ve faced to one degree or another my entire life smother my joy.

I choose to not let the let downs, and the loneliness crush me. I choose to be…radiant. I’ve always treated joy like something that was just going to fall into my lap and make things perfect and rosy. But, for me now, in this stage of my life, to be joyful has to be a conscious choice. I need to be a grown up, and decide that my happiness, my joy, is going to fall onto my own lap to create. I can’t ask anyone to make my joy for me. Not friends, not lovers, not co-workers, or even my lovely family. Can I derive joy from these things? Yes. But should they be the source of my joy? No.

So, I choose to be a partner in the creation of my own joy, not just a spectator in my misery.

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Choosing Joy

  1. Well said Claire. We need to choose joy every day in every situation. I try to do this myself and that is why in the midst of trials and troubles, whether personal, family or financial; I can usually summon a smile. I find joy in the little things, in the kind words of a friend or a stranger, in the hug of one of my children or just in the beauty that surrounds me in each sunrise and sunset.

    Much love 🙂

    Posted by Missy | February 13, 2012, 1:13 pm
  2. I Love your blog and I love you.

    Posted by Anne Horman | February 13, 2012, 1:39 pm
  3. Love the title 😉 and the blog. In life, joy is a gift from above, much like grace. You can ask for it and then you have to be open to receiving it. Too many people confuse joy with happiness, which it is not, as you have said. It is the simple acceptance – the pure contentment – to be at peace wherever you find yourself. I love your joy!

    Posted by Maureen Skora | February 13, 2012, 1:45 pm
  4. channeling mary j “no more drama”

    I don’t know
    Only God knows where the story ends for me
    But I know where the story begins
    It’s up to us to choose
    Whether we win or loose
    And I choose to win

    Posted by jdleigh | February 14, 2012, 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

