//
you're reading...
Faith, freedom, love, poetry

The Mountains are calling and I must go/ A Long Overdue Update/Making it Official

So, I know it’s been quite a while since I’ve written. So sorry about that! I’ve been spending more time with my friends out here in Questa, and getting the know the area better!

My mom came out to visit for my 28th birthday, and that may have been the best birthday present I’ve ever gotten! It was so awesome to be able to share the place I love so much with her! It was so nice to see someone from home enjoy Taos and Red River as much as I do.

Well, this is it. I’m making it official. I’m staying in New Mexico. If this is the first you’re hearing about this, well, sorry.  think that most of the people who would read this already know where my heart is on this topic. As of tomorrow, I’m getting (hopefully!) my learners permit in New Mexico, which will officially make me a citizen of the fair state of New Mexico! And even if I don’t get my learners, I’m at LEAST getting an ID. And also (Lord willing…) I will be signing a lease on a small apartment in Red River with my friend Esperanza (what a great name!!). It’s as big as a postage stamp and the walls are a truly horrible shade of…maybe green, but it will be ours, for the time being!

I don’t know, maybe it’s the mountains, so raw and so THERE. Or maybe it’s just that I’ve learned so much about myself and what I’m capable of doing while I’ve been here. I don’t know, but trying to live life anywhere other than this area just seems…colorless. Things just seem more possible here. Maybe it’s because for the first time in my life, the sky actually seems BIG. And for the first time in my life, I can BREATH. I want to learn to fly fish, and climb mountains. I want to sleep under the stars and be able to actually SEE stars.

My awesome employers are fine with me moving out and still working for them until they leave to move to Iowa. And after that I’m 75% sure that I have another few jobs lined up.

This Easter has been very good for me. I get my butt back into confession and to Mass, and feel like things are just going well. I mean, for starters, the Church didn’t burn down when I walked in and Father didn’t punch me in the face after he heard my confession, so, that’s got to mean SOMETHING.

Here is a little poem/meditation I wrote for Easter called “30 Pieces of Silver”

I often wonder
What are the
30 pieces of silver
With which
I’ve sold Him out.
What was the prize
More magnificent
Than His love?
Is it every kiss
I should never have taken?
Is it the moments
I doubt that He is
Who He said He was?
Maybe the times
I’ve told lies
That I didn’t need to tell.
Or the times
I’ve ignored His
Still, small Voice?
Copyright © nannymcawesome, 04/07/2012
About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Mountains are calling and I must go/ A Long Overdue Update/Making it Official

  1. Wonderful pics and a nice poem. Happy Easter.

    Posted by Rich Kenney | April 8, 2012, 3:07 pm
  2. Hey! Glad to hear it’s official and that you’re doing well! You look mahvelous, dahling!

    Posted by Kara | April 8, 2012, 3:43 pm
  3. So happy for you, Claire. Follow your dreams and keep writing.

    Posted by Cathy | April 9, 2012, 2:55 am

Leave a Reply

