//
you're reading...
Faith, Feelings, obligations, the bigger picture

Give Us This Day- Thoughts on the Battle of Needs vs Wants

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t really think I’ve ever had such a pressing requirement to separate the things I need from the things I want.

My bank account is sitting WELL below my freak out level, and we’re currently both jobless. And while we have a place to live and all the basics covered, I still REALLY have to ask myself “Ok, do I need this, or want it?”

For example, I’ve been noticing lately that I only have 4 fingernail polishes. Not the end of the world. But hey, finger nail polishes are cool! But, when push comes to excruciating shove, they aren’t things that I need. Same thing with lipstick. I would love a fun, Christmas-y red. But, I honestly don’t even wear lipstick that often, let alone enough to make it an essential.

100_2412I would LOVE to get my hands on some John Frieda Red shampoo and conditioner. But, to be honest once again, I have at least 3 half used bottles of shampoo or conditioner (I haven’t checked) in the linen closet. I don’t need any shampoo, let alone a pricier one.

In the Lord’s Prayer we pray: “Give us this day our daily bread” not “Give us this day our daily bread, and all the other fancy things we don’t need even a little”. I need to realize that I’m stressing out over the little things that I don’t need. I have all I need.

Now, I’m not saying we should all toss over this life and go live in a monastery (Although I do think that everyone should do something like that for at least a little bit) that’s not the point I’m trying to make. Little luxuries are nice, fun, comfy. Because I’ll admit it: I LOVE my creature comforts. I LOVE having fun little things that don’t matter all that much. I love my STUFF. I love the accusation of more stuff. But they are just luxuries. If my needs are met, I need to start being more content with them.

I’m learning this lesson because I really don’t have an option. It’s a “be content of loose your mind” kind of situation here. My prayer for you is that you can learn this lesson before you HAVE to learn this lesson.

Where are places in your life that you are letting the excess pile up? Buying more books then you need? Go to the library.

Do you REALLY need to buy that extra box of cookies when you know you have all the fixings at home to not only make your own, but spend some quality time with a kid or partner while making them?

If you can muster up the courage, ask God to show you where you are letting that want over power the need. It’s not always fun to have your failing points pointed out, but hey, it might just be worth it.

 

 

 

About Beating Heart, Spinning Mind

Professional dreamer. Searching for a job and greater meaning. Being a good girlfriend...well, trying to.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Give Us This Day- Thoughts on the Battle of Needs vs Wants

  1. Well said. I remember when your sisters were very small and Dave hadn’t appeared on the scene. We had very little money, the feds had discontinued the program where dad was working so he was working a day laborer, They don’t make much money. I was at home caring for a one year old and a nearly three year old. One day I went to the grocery store with a specific amount of money, enough to keep hunger from our door. Kara wanted crackers, she had asked for them. I saw a lovely house plant and wanted to buy it. I stood in front of the plants and actually held the crackers, weighing the alternatives. The crackers won. On the next afternoon, still feeling a little down about the plant, a knock came at the front door. I opened it and there was my friend Kathy with three big paper bags full of groceries and, lo and behold, a two foot high rubber tree plant for me. I was astonished and asked about the plant . She said that she and her husband Jim were returning from a trip in VA and bought three plants for ten dollars. Since they didn’t need three , she thought I might like one. I asked about the groceries. She told me that she was shopping and just duplicated her own order to give to us. I was flabbergasted and in awe of a God who would move a friend to such love and would actually have a plant as part of the gift. So, needs and wants. God knows the desire on our hearts, He also knows what we need and meets them. He delights to give us our desires when it is good for us and in His timing. Crackers, a plant. A lesson about the love of God bestowed through a friend.

    Posted by Anne Horman | December 10, 2012, 12:19 pm
  2. Oh, by the way, there was a four sleeve box of saltines, the kind Kara wanted in among the groceries. I could on ly buy a two sleeve box. Abundance!
    Love you to pieces, Mom

    Posted by Anne Horman | December 10, 2012, 12:23 pm

Leave a Reply

